Salute to eco-friendly companies: saving green while being green

November 12, 2008 at 6:27 pm 4 comments

Today, I want to take time to loudly applaud a few companies that go out of their way to be kinder to our planet – Amazon.com, Forest City, and Great Lakes Brewing Co.

Frustration-free packagingpackaging-victim
Amazon surprised me this morning. Thanks to my blogger buddy Chris Hansen, MarketGreener author, I learned about Amazon’s Frustration-free packaging. Thank goodness someone is spearheading this initiative! It always baffled me how toothbrushes are plastic sealed, the kind that’s impossible to open without injury and light bulbs are in a flimsy, sad excuse for cardboard. I don’t get it.

Amazon’s actually invited its consumers to post videos and pictures of packaging horror stories. Some are pretty humorous. The packaging reduction is a unrecyclable-plastic-packagingpart of their enivornmental promise. So not as much of this packaging to the left and more recyclable cardboard packaging.

Hansen also said on his post that this environmental initiative will sway his purchasing decisions.

” I find myself shopping online a lot, and this is just one more reason for me to try Amazon first.”

It’s very true though. I do the same thing. I support companies more that care about the earth. PR students – if your client can, promote its environmental stance. Because it makes a difference. The company looks ethical and boosts image. But for heaven sakes, only when it’s appropriate. Don’t greenwash.

Locally grownforest-city-recycling-materials1
The next two companies, Forest City and Great Lakes Brewing Company are both Cleveland-sprouted sustainable companies.

Forest City Enterprises, Inc. is a realty and development company that ensures its properties and construction are as eco-thoughtful as possible. It all feeds into the triple bottom line – people, planet and profit.

Cheers for beers
The Great Lakes Brewing Co. is brewery and restaurant but also ships its beers elsewhere. This company is ethical down its last hop. Not only does the company love the environment but it also funds non-profit organizations throughout Cleveland. Its Web site has dedicated three pages about how and why the planet is important. It recycles everything; its “Fatty Wagons” (delivery truck and shuttle bus) run off vegetable oil from the great-lakes-logokitchen and paper, cardboard, kitchen scraps and grain are fed to worms to produce organic fertilizer that incubates the herbs and veggies found on the menu. You can read the entire list of its current environmental projects here.

Like I said earlier in the post with Amazon, people are looking for these initiatives and it’ll sway purchasing decisions. Just last night, I bought a bottle of of GLBC’s Christmas Ale – delicious. The company’s promise to beer-with-black-background1the environment was on the bottle asking me to join them in recycling. No worries, it’s already in the bin.

In closing, with the holiday season approaching, support the companies that care about the planet. So go out into the world and buy a frustration-free gift, buy a sustainable home and drink some Christmas Ale for the companies that do their part.

Green tip #3
white-vinegarWhite vinegar is a natural fabric softener. Replace your chemical-filled choice with 1/4 – 1 cup of vinegar next time you wash. It’s cheaper and it doesn’t leave behind a scent. (It really works. I tried it.)

Entry filed under: public relations, Sustainable companies. Tags: , , , , .

Salvage – green fashion and design at KSU Green Your Routine this week with NBC

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris  |  November 12, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Brittany, thanks for the plug! I’ll put you on the blogroll.

    Cheers!

  • 2. Lauren Gober  |  November 25, 2008 at 6:51 am

    I absolutely agree with this blog. Helping out the environment truly helps companies stand out amongst the crowd these days in an increasingly eco-friendly world. Some people today refuse to buy products from companies that are not “green.” I personally feel that everyone should do their part to help out the environment, whether it is recycling your items, influencing your friends and family to recycle, buying items from companies that really care about the environment, or simply not being wasteful with materials that are not recyclable.
    I feel that recycling is one of the easiest and best ways to help out for both individuals and companies of any size. I recycle everything I can in my dorm and around Kent campus, and I encourage my friends to do so as well. Sometimes people may feel that it is easier just to throw it away, and sometimes this may be the case. However, I have noticed that Kent is doing an excellent job at making recycling more convenient for students and faculty by placing bins for paper, plastic, glass, and aluminum cans all over campus, including dorms. I have seen a lot of them placed right next to trash cans, which makes recycling that much easier. My dorm, along with the rest of the dorms, is participating in a recycling contest to see which dorm can recycle the most. A big bin has been placed on the first floor so anyone walking to their room or leaving can drop items off. This is a fabulous way to get students involved and to help the Earth.
    In addition, recycling can occur in other ways as well. I have an HP printer, and every time I change my ink there is a cartridge recycle envelop in with my new ink. I have no problem recycling my cartridges because HP has made it so easy. I do not even have to pay for postage. All I have to do is drop it off at the desk in my dorm and they mail it. This makes me feel 100% better about my printer choice because I know that my company supports the environment and makes it easy for its customers to do the same.
    Also, I believe that not being wasteful is another easy way to help the environment. For instance, I bought plastic dishes and metal silverware that I can rewash for my dorm so that I do not have to continuously buy and use throw away plastic dishes and utensils. The place that I work at, Prentice Café, also does this by giving people washable plates and silverware to eat on if they are eating there. Unfortunately, they do give away plastic silverware and Styrofoam to-go boxes too that are not recyclable, which is very wasteful. I wish that they would have the biodegradable boxes that Jump Asian Express has at The Hub. However, they do recycle all cardboard materials at the end of the night.
    Overall, I believe that convenience is a big issue for people when helping the environment. When things like recycling are made easier and more convenient for people, they will feel more obliged to do it. I feel that companies today are realizing that convenient or not, it is important to care for the environment because it improves the company’s image and keeps our Earth as clean as possible. An important part of PR is to keep the views of the various publics of a company favorable, and a great way to do this is by being eco-friendly because of this issue’s prominence in today’s society.

  • 3. Corbin Flak  |  November 25, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Hi, I like how you offered so many different companies that are pro-environment, even a beer company. I just wish that more companies were like this. A major business in the world that I wish would put more effort into eco-friendly efforts is cigarette companies. People constantly throw cigarette butts everywhere. They should be more concerned about the negative image cigarettes have. No one likes seeing them thrown all over the place. If each cigarette company employed a department dedicated to eco-friendly efforts I’m most certain things could be better because they would be able to offer major insights and ideas if their job was dedicated to that. If only they could come up with a way for the butts to be able to decompose in a short amount of time, they would not be every where for such a long period of time. I know it would be difficult to come up with something like that without compromising the cigarette itself, but nothing is impossible these days. I enjoyed your blog and I just hope more companies start thinking green because if we let our environment go to waste, it won’t be around much longer.

    Corbin – Kent State Advertising Major.

  • 4. brittanythoma13  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Thanks to Chris to adding me to his blogroll! Hooray!

    And thanks to Corbin and Lauren for your thoughful insight. I’m glad you two enjoyed the blog and hope you’ll stop by again. It’s good to know that what I’m writing is being absorbed. Let me know if you think I should cover a topic. Thanks again for your time.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Mastermind

I'm Brittany Thoma, PR pro-in-training. Living greener is my mission. I want to learn, inform and discuss topics cropping up in the green movement and how it relates to public relations.

Email me

Categories


