Green Your Routine this week with NBC

November 19, 2008 at 11:00 am 9 comments

nbc-green-logoLast November was NBC’s first stab at its Green Week. For seven days, all NBC Universal’s networks committed to over 150 hours of green-themed programming. And its happening again.

Last night while watching The Biggest Loser, I noticed the NBC peacock in the bottom right corner of the screen was green. Then at the top of the commercial break, Jillian the trainer told me to restrain from using disposable dishes during the holiday season to reduce waste. Two commercial breaks later I was reminded to choose reusable shopping bags.

I choked on my pasta leftovers a little. I’m so glad someone, or conglomerate rather, is using its clout and credibility to speak for the environment.

Happy Treehuggers and Critics
I wasn’t the only eco-friend who was pleasantly surprised. The Green Home Lady blog author said in a post she didn’t see it coming.

“Scripted into all the programs I watched were characters reminding each other to recycle, buy solar energy or turn off lights. It made me giddy, I tell you.”

But as we all know, you can’t please everyone. Some claim nbc-green-is-universalNBC’s showing a bias toward the Blue Party. Anne Simons, author of brandsizzle blog said:

“…the effort was, at best, intrusive and preachy, and at worst,
was evidence of a liberal media conspiracy.”

But my question is, why does the network get labeled liberal if there’s concern for mother earth? Regardless of whether you believe in global warming or not, what’s the harm in helping out the planet? Even if global warming does prove to be bogus, no harm was done.

green-is-universal-logoGreen is Universal site
While the NBC character’s were offering me up some green tips, they also told me about the Green is Univeral Web site. So I went. I listened to Conan O’ Brien’s green tip PSA and built my dream green home. The Web site did exactly what it was designed to do – engaged its audience. I spent upwards of 45 minutes on the site. Here’s a clip of celebrities talking about their green habits.

And the Moral of the Story is…four-people-talking-on-phone1
Some say Green Week doesn’t work for NBC. So what? The way I see it, Green Week is a success because NBC created a conversation. The company engaged its audience on the site with games, information and videos. And I stumbled across numerous blogs loving or hating NBC for its initative. The loving or hating doesn’t matter.

 What matters is NBC got people talking about the green movement and created buzz via print and online. NBC got its key audience to participate and to have a conservsation. And that, my friends, is public relations.

Green tip #4 – Salt drain cleaner and sponge savior
salt-shaker1Household salt has other uses besides flavoring dishes. Equal quantities of salt and hot water poured down a drain can help get rid of nasty smells and dissolve grease, plus slow future buildup. By soaking kitchen sponges in heavily saline solution, it helps kill the bacteria that cause nasty smells.

Entry filed under: Green is Universal, NBC's Green Week, public relations. Tags: , , , , , .

Salute to eco-friendly companies: saving green while being green

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Veronica Giorgetti  |  November 25, 2008 at 1:59 am

    I really enjoyed your blog. I think that NBC’s green week is a great idea and i agree that it is a success because “NBC created a conversation”. Global warming is a rising concern, and whether or not global warming is proven true in the future, its an issue that more people should be aware of. It is important to educate the public about simple ways in which they can help, because reguardless of global warming this is still our planet and it couldn’t hurt to improve it. I like the idea of NBC’s green week because they give simple suggestions of how you can help, and its important for people to understand that helping improve our Earth doesn’t need to be so complicated, if everyone just did something as simple as recycling or not using disposable plates. I also really like the idea of using their website to engage their key audience with games and informative videos. After reading your blog I had to check out the website, and i became motivated to be more “Green” conscious myself.

  • 2. Amanda Guerra  |  November 25, 2008 at 2:51 am

    I think this was a great idea on NBC’s part. If no one is talking about it, people will not take the intuitive to go green. Engaging the audience on this topic is what the producers at NBC were going for with this campaign. Why not put this campaign on a respected news source? I disagree with Anne Simons, NBC was just trying to get the word out there, not force the country to listen. If you can get a few thousand people to act what is the harm in a campaign like this? NBC is famous for their peacock symbol, which was why it was a perfect idea to change the color to green for the campaign, it is one of the first things a person notices when flipping to that channel. The next step to this campaign should definitely be college campuses as well as high schools. We should be trained at a very young age to care for our planet. NBC is pushing forward to change the planet, why shouldn’t we?

  • 3. Chloe George  |  November 25, 2008 at 3:38 am

    I am embarrassed to admit that although I often watch NBC, I did not notice the Green incorporations into the normal programming and commercials. However, I was impressed to hear that a network has used its credibility to positively influence its viewers. Unfortunately, many viewers are opposed to what some people refer to as “propaganda”, as they feel a news network should not make indications on which side of the political spectrum they belong to. The commercials that encourage viewers to partake in eco-friendly behavior can act as nothing but positive reinforcement. We all know that celebrities play a large role in the lives of the younger generation, and by them applauding Green activities, it helps persuade the youth to begin good, planet friendly habits. If the youth is able to bring eco-friendly behavior into their household, the difference will be incredible. NBC was not being liberal with this Green Week, rather they were targeting their key audience and finding ways to get in touch with an audience who may just learn and adapt new planet friendly lifestyles. Kudos NBC for taking a step in the right direction!

  • 4. Mariah  |  November 25, 2008 at 4:36 am

    I watched the Biggest Loser as well, but somehow managed to miss the Green NBC logo. To be honest, I didn’t think much of Jillian telling us “to restrain from using disposable dishes during the holiday season to reduce waste” because the trainers give some kind of tip every week. But come to think about it, in last season and this they are pushing the Brita Water filter to keep from using plastic water bottles. Now, because I tivoed BL, I skipped all the commercials, so I missed the one about reusable shopping bags. But if it was for the blue cloth ones for Wal Mart, I’ve seen that one before. I feel that it is great that NBC is trying to motivate its viewers to “go green” in a small way. They are showing that they care and are willing to take a chance by expressing that opinion. While people may be upset by this outward expression, I believe that they are helping to inform a lot of people of the benefits of helping the Earth through their shows, commercials and website. And along those lines, thanks for the green tip, I’m going to try that one for sure!

  • 5. Kimberlee George  |  November 25, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Brittany,

    I completely agree with what you said. Planet Earth is a place where both Republicans and Democrats live. Rather than NBC being criticized for plugging for the blue party, they should be congratulated and celebrated for having the courage to say things that other networks have yet to say. To stand up for the earth and show people little ways that they can help, shows that they really do not have a Republican or Democrat mindset but rather the mindset of helping to save the planet. I think that for this blog it shows that global warming etc is something that will affect the world and not just a certian group of people. If one is going down we’re all going down together so we should begin to save it together.

  • 6. Wesley Freeman  |  November 25, 2008 at 9:54 am

    NBC has agood concept, but they need alot more than a weeks worth of programming to really be considered to making a serious contribution. NBC is one of the largest television networks in this country. I feel with a television company as big as they are they could at least do this type of thing once a month. They should not be applauded for one week of green, they should be ashamed. It is our duty to take care of the earth we live on.

  • 7. Ryan Garris  |  November 25, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    It’s good to see a big network like NBC getting the word out there. Has there been any talk of any other networks doing as extensive of coverage on the environment or energy saving?
    I doubt Fox would, but what about CBS?

    ps thanks for the salt tip, my kitchen stinks, hopefully that will help 😉

  • 8. Alison Glovac  |  November 25, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I think it’s great that a network is supporting the green movement. I definitely don’t think that makes it a liberal network. We are all people on this earth so the environment affects us all, it’s not like the network is being biased toward one candidate or another. They are just trying to do their part, and be a part of the growing green movement. It is not like anything they did was offensive or too in your face. I hardly think a green peacock symbol or a tip about using reusable shopping bags would hurt anyone! Also, many companies are getting in on the green movement because it is becoming a trend; people are now flaunting their reusable shopping bags and organic denim jeans. Trends=money. I think it is a smart move by the network to set themselves apart as being green, because I think it will resonate with a large number of people who want to feel that they are a part of the movement/trend. I’m sure that most other networks will do something similar if they haven’t already. They would be foolish not to.

  • 9. brittanythoma13  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks to all of you for dropping into recycled PeRspective. It’s nice to see a spectrum of opinions.
    Wesley – Yes, I’m sure NBC has the money and resources to do a Green Week more than twice a year. However, I’ve learned that you have to celebrate the little victories in the green movement. If two weeks a year is what they’re declaring Green, then it’s better than nothing. And, I agree, it is our duty to take care of the earth. If NBC should be ashamed for only dedicating two weeks a year to the green movment, then what should all the other networks be?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Mastermind

I'm Brittany Thoma, PR pro-in-training. Living greener is my mission. I want to learn, inform and discuss topics cropping up in the green movement and how it relates to public relations.

Email me

Categories


